I think I’m finally getting there, after long weeks of rest and incredible pain, I am able to get through a day without having a lie down. My pain has decreased to the point where I only need half the medication I was on. The best news is that I get back to work on Monday. Cannot wait, life has been very slow these past months. I have been practicing for next week by going out for long days, shopping and visiting friends. So far I have been able to return home and not reach straight for pain killers, but instead I’ve been doing a bit of housework and cooking. It must sound stupid to healthy people, but just to be able to walk at my normal speed, without limping around, is making me so very happy!

I have to attribute this improvement to my lifestyle changes. Giving up smoking and eliminating processed food from my diet has been noticeably responsible for my improved health. The Specific Carbohydrate Diet was developed initially for Chron’s sufferers, but it’s effective in treating many ailments of the intestinal tract. I strongly urge anyone suffering from similar problems to check it out. It is very difficult at first, but I now really enjoy my fresh food. There are no packets or packages in my life, and the taste of real fresh flavours has changed my way of thinking about food. I really enjoy a fruit salad for breakfast, and as I am still unable to eat meat, (each time I end up with awful stomach cramps), have really begun to explore the wide range of vegetables available. I’ve met so many new friends and people who are able to help and advise me on getting the right nutrition. This truly has been a life changing experience for me.

Not much happening at home, all the kids have gone to the ‘others’ for their week, and Fitty and I have been alternatively playing nice, and arguing about whether or not he needs nicotine replacement! We finally got down to the nitty-gritty last night and talked it through. We’ve come up with a few strategies to help him get through his “craving” periods, (that is when he starts frothing). I suggested deep breathing and “alone” time, and he thinks this is a good plan. It’s true what they say about the hardest part of over-coming a problem, is admitting you have it in the first place!!

I’ll let you know how this works out…

Fitty is a really great guy. I’m not just saying that. He is the nicest person I have ever met. He never makes me feel like I am unloved or unsupported, and he is a truly wonderful father. All 8 of our kids would attest to this. However he is probably a bit too clever. He knows so much about everything! I am reminded constantly of my father. He was also a very well educated and clever man. Knew everything there was to know about anything I ever asked. When presented with a personal problem, Dad would always give me 3 options. What he would do, what an idiot would do, and what I would probably end up doing. This was such a great method that I employ it with our kids whenever I can. I was always able to find an option that suited me, and knew instantly what not to do. My father is no longer with us, and I miss talking things through with him. The number of times I have reached for the phone when something exciting or bothersome has happened!! He was always my go-to person, and I miss him so much.

Fitty is much the same, is able to support us all through our rough times, and still be the same smiling happy man. The thing is, when you are such a nice person, it’s rough to be told that you aren’t being so nice lately. He has trouble admitting to negative feelings, and will swear black and blue that he is fine, there is nothing wrong with him, but if everyone could just stop annoying him things would be great. You see my problem now don’t you?

Last night was a break through, I may have had to hammer it into his head, but he now understands what he’s been like to live with. Setting up those few strategies will work for us, as we are on our own for the week, and stress levels will be quite low.

Tomorrow I will be doing something so special, so amazing that it brings tears of joy to my eyes just thinking about it. I cannot say too much, as I am a superstitious little devil, but I can tell you that it will be the best thing I have ever done!

