It is Easter Monday, and as I write, I am contemplating the week ahead. Not a normal week by any standard. On Friday I will be undergoing surgery.

It will be a busy week. When Fitty and I get back from Sydney I would like for everything to be in it’s place and neat and tidy. I won’t be very active at all, (actually I will be in lots of pain), so I feel it’s necessary to go the extra yards now in order to make it easier for Fitty and the kids next week. I am expecting to be out of action entirely for about 2 weeks, but I’m unsure exactly how I will be. Under advice from other sufferers I think 2 weeks is about right. After that I will be slowly getting back on my feet and hopefully by 5 or 6 weeks later I will be almost normal again. The Surgeon has given me no guarantees, but I am hopeful. Exceptionally hopeful. I am so sick of illness and pain.

I look forward to spending some time with my family today, and with my very best friends tomorrow. Wednesday will be packing and panicking day. I know I shouldn’t but I really don’t think I’ll be able to help myself. Panic is a natural part of my personality!

I don’t think I’ll have much time for posting in the next few weeks, but you never know? I hate being in this position, being so unsure of how things will go. It’s almost like giving birth to that  first  baby. You know it’s going to hurt but you can’t have any idea how much until you actually start labor. I remember being so shocked when I had my first baby!!

This feeling is similar. I have been told to expect pain, and I’m not sure how I’ll cope? Fitty is a bit nervous too, but I know he is very strong when he needs to be and he’ll be there for me. The kids have been well informed too, as we both believe that honesty is the best policy in raising kids. Ours have been through a bit already, and are very compassionate when it comes to illness or pain. I’m hoping they are prepared enough to cope with the initial part of my recovery. Nurses will be in and out of the house on a daily basis once I return home, and I know this will be weird for the children and I want them to be comfortable with the idea that I may not be functioning too well on my own.

I look forward to getting back on track with my posts, and I’m really looking forward to posting about 6, 7 and 8. They eagerly await their stories being written. I will especially enjoy sharing 6’s story as he was almost 10 weeks premature, and his journey into the world so very interesting. I have never known a child more determined to be born. Boy does this kid have a story!!

Until then, thanks so much to everybody who has been concerned. Your messages and care mean so much to me. Finding friends through blogging is a completely unexpected joy.

Happy Easter to you all and may God bless each and every one of you.

