I have just returned from Sydney after a very frustrating couple of days.

I did undergo a surgery, but it wasn’t the one I was hoping for. My Surgeon has explained to me that I am still too inflamed and unwell for the procedure to be successful. Although I’m upset that this thing will drag on, I am pleased that my surgeon is sensible and making good decisions for me. There’s no point undergoing a painful procedure with little chance of success. So he tells me I’ll have to wait another 6 weeks, at which time he’ll decide whether I’m “fit” for surgery again.

In the meantime,Ā  Fitty and I had to rearrange our travel and accommodation plans, thankfully the motel will refund the nights Fitty didn’t use the room. My work weren’t expecting me back for 6 – 8 weeks, and here I am probably fit for work again in a week or so.

When I first woke up, there were tears. I had a good cry and was then able to see the truth of the situation. Fitty’s face was priceless when I told him what had happened, he was quite obnoxiously put out by the whole thing, but he too could see it was for the best. We both just had to adjust to the new situation, we were both expecting and had prepared so meticulously for a very different outcome.

It’s unbelievably frustrating news, but I guess looking on the bright side, I will be 6 weeks healthier for the surgery? We’ll be able to complete a couple more renovation projects before I go back to surgery. The fireplace will definitely be in, we will be picking up the hearth tiles Monday, and the fire should be here by the end of the week. I can’t wait for this toasty warm addition to our home. We used to have to just about sit on the open fire to keep warm as most of the heat would go up the chimney. However we will now have to go and get a “proper” tree to decorate for Christmas…. No more tarting up the old copper fire place.

The Christmas Chimney lives no more....

The Christmas Chimney lives no more….

Fitty and I are hoping to finalise plans for our new kitchen in the next week or so and get that happening as well. So many things to choose…. I will be spending lots of time at the tile shop scratching my head I think? I used to think I knew what I wanted, but a simple trip into the tile shop has my head swimming with new ideas. Too many choices, I’d probably be better closing my eyes and spinning around til I stop, and pick the one I’m pointing at. Hey now there’s an idea!!

I want to take some time to say thank you again to my very special blogging friends. You have no idea how much your support and your continuing kind messages have helped me. I know you will be frustrated with and for me, and I thank you for that as well. I’ve decided that whatever happens next is going to happen whether I’m happy or sad about it, so I’ve chosen a positive attitude. I’m pretty sure it will all work out fine for me in the long run. Now I’m off for a nice hot pain relieving bath, and a good early night.

